Iten United FC wins 2018 EMC championship

3 minutes read

Iten All Stars are this year’s Elgeyo Marakwet County football champions.
Iten United had to battle for a 1-1 draw with Kapsowar Young Stars in an entertaining match that was pushed to extra time which resulted to another 30 minutes barren draw before the match was decided on penalties.

United who had survived a scare from Kitany FC in the semi finals where lucky to score 21 minutes into the game through Moses Kimutai to cancel Young Stars lead who had opened the score sheet when Ayub Chumo found the net at the 7th minute.

Photo/ GPS

Kitany had dominated and would have denied Iten United the final slot after Leonard Kiprono failed to register a goal after dribbling past three defenders only to shoot wide.

The finals tensed as Kapsowar Young Stars dominated possession after the first goal as Iten United tried on the flanks which yielded to Kimutai’s goal.

Both teams seemed contented with a draw after United were denied a goal for an offside in the game that was watched by among others Elgeyo Marakwet Governor Alex Tolgos.

Photo /GPS

Young Stars however pushed hard in the dying minutes of the game which resulted into a tackle that saw Iten United’s goal scorer red carded, which almost marred the game.


After the final 90 minutes, the game headed for a goalless extra time taking it to the penalties with Kapsowar converting just a single shot against Iten’s three.

Kapsowar Young Stars from Marakwet West Sub County had eliminated Sosurwo FC from Endo who were beaten to the fourth slot by Kitany.

In the women’s category, the script was thesame as Iten Starlets from Kapchemutwa Ward beat Kaptabuk from Kapsowar Ward to clinch the title.Koptega FC dismissed Wema FC from Endo to settle for the third place.

In the men’s volleyball, Iten took the bragging rights after dismissing Kapcherop/Chesubet in three straight sets.
Kaptarakwa and Tuturung settled for third and fourth place respectively.

In the women’s category, Iten beat Chemoibon as Kapkwony settled for the third spot.

Winners in all categories were awarded with Ksh75,000 and Ksh50,000 for the second placed while the third and fourth place got Ksh30,000 and Ksh20,000 respectively.Each team also was given sports kits.

The Governor said he was encouraged by the high level of skills displayed by the players and welcomed clubs to scout for players in the County.

He said: “I have seen good football here today.We can produce players who can play for our national team if we keep doing more of this.”

He urged all Wards to allocate funds for the event so that they could all participate.
The event was attended by Deputy Governor Wisley Rotich,MCA’s Winnie Kanda, Lorna Tanui, Tich Cheboi, David Kipketer, Musa Limo, Jonah Tanui, Truphena Yego, Shadrack Luley and Lawi Kibire.
Others were CEC members Shadrach Yatich, Dr Kiprono Chepkok and Anita Kimwatan.


1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.